Governor Stitt Issues 'Safer At Home' Order Effective Immediately

Governor Stitt just issued a 'Safer At Home' order requiring all vulnerable Oklahomans to stay at home until April 30th.

All gatherings of 10 or more people are now prohibited statewide as well.

He is also enacting measures in 19 counties that have positive cases of COVID-19 requiring all non-essential businesses to close by 11:59pm tomorrow for 21 days. The list of counties affected include: Canadian, Cleveland, Custer, Garvin, Grady, Jackson, Kay, Logan, Mays, McClain, Muskogee, Noble, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington.

Non-essential businesses are considered places with a ‘social gathering’ aspect, like bars, gyms, and tattoo/massage parlors.

All elective surgeries, non-emergency dental procedures and minor medical procedures will be suspended as well. Visitation to nursing homes and long term care facilities will not be allowed either.

The U.S. government defines essential personnel as:

  • Healthcare/ Public health
  • Law enforcement, Public Safety, First Responders
  • Food and Agriculture
  • Energy
  • Water and Wastewater
  • Transportation and Logistics
  • Public Works
  • Communications and Information Technology
  • Community-based Government Operations and Essential Functions
  • Critical Manufacturing
  • Hazardous Materials
  • Financial Services
  • Chemical
  • Defense Industrial Base.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content